### **BOARD MEMBERSHIP UPDATE**

hed since 1 onsider any

Joint Health & Wellbeing Strategy

Councillor Philip Corthorne

Financial Cost

and strategies

**Contribution to plans** 

Relevant Board

None

Relevant Policy Overview & Scrutiny Committee

N/A

Ward(s) affected

N/A

#### 2. RECOMMENDATIONS

That the Health and Wellbeing Board agree that:

- Mr Mark Easton replace Mr Rob Larkman as the Hillingdon Clinical Commissioning Group Non-Voting Co-opted member on the Board; and
- Ms Sarah Crowther replace Ms Allison Seidlar as the Hillingdon Clinical Commissioning Group Non-Voting Co-opted member on the Board.

#### 3. INFORMATION

#### **Supporting Information**

The Local Trusts and NHS representatives are invited to attend Board meetings as Co-opted Members. Statutory Members and Co-opted Members are allowed a single nominated/named substitute.

A request has been made by Hillingdon Clinical Commissioning Group that Mr Mark Easton replaces Mr Rob Larkman as the organisation's Non-Voting Co-opted member and that Ms Sarah Crowther replace Ms Allison Seidlar as the organisation's Non-Voting Co-opted member

on the Hillingdon Health and Wellbeing Board. It should be noted that, as this is a proposed change to the Non-Voting Co-opted membership of the Board, there is no need for it to be ratified by Council and, if agreed by the Board, can be implemented immediately.

### **Voting Rights**

In addition to Councillors, the statutory representatives from the local Clinical Commissioning Group and Healthwatch Hillingdon (and their substitutes if required) will be entitled to vote at meetings but Co-opted Members and Council officers will not.

The national regulations surrounding the Board require that all 'voting' members sign up to the Council's Code of Conduct. The Code of Conduct is a set of golden rules by which Elected Councillors must follow to ensure high standards in public office. It includes a public declaration of any interests. It should be noted that the term "Co-opted Member", so far as the Code of Conduct is concerned, is different to that of a Co-opted Member on the Board.

The Board requires that the confidential nature of reports containing exempt information within the meaning of section 100I of the Local Government Act 1972 (commonly known as Part II reports) is observed at all times and by all members of the Board. As Co-opted non-voting members of Hillingdon's Health and Wellbeing Board are not bound by the Council's Code of Conduct, these members are asked to complete a confidentiality agreement. This agreement notes the confidentiality requirement and the need to refrain from discussing or disclosing any aspect of confidential reports to any individual or body outside of the meeting.

# **Financial Implications**

There are no financial implications arising from the recommendations in this report.

### 4. EFFECT ON RESIDENTS, SERVICE USERS & COMMUNITIES

What will be the effect of the recommendation?

N/A.

#### **Consultation Carried Out or Required**

Consultation with the Chairman of the Board and relevant officers.

### 5. CORPORATE IMPLICATIONS

# **Hillingdon Council Corporate Finance comments**

There are no financial implications arising from the recommendations in this report.

#### Hillingdon Council Legal comments

Section 194 of the Health and Social Care Act 2012 requires the Council to establish a Health and Wellbeing Board to comprise a number of Statutory Members and such other persons, or representatives of such other persons, as the local authority thinks appropriate.

Sections 195 and 196 of the Health and Social Care Act 2012 specify the functions of the Board. These duties are to encourage persons engaged in the provision of any health or social care services "to work in an integrated manner" and to "provide advice, assistance or other support" to encourage joint working between local authorities and NHS bodies. Section 196 also specifies that the Board is to exercise the Council's functions under sections 116 and 116A of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 - assessment of health and social care needs in the Borough and the preparation of the Joint Health and Wellbeing Strategy.

In addition, The Local Authority (Public Health, Health and Wellbeing Boards and Health Scrutiny) Regulations 2013 set out how the Board should operate as a Committee of the Council. Regulation 6 provides that the existing legislation on voting rights need not apply unless the Council so directs. However, before making such a direction on voting rights, the Council is required to consult the Board. Regulation 7 makes there no requirement to have all political groups within the Council represented on the Board.

Section 49(7) of the Local Government Act 2000 requires any external members of a Council committee to adhere to the Members Code of Conduct if they have an entitlement to vote at meeting of the committee.

### **6. BACKGROUND PAPERS**

NIL.

# **HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD MEMBERSHIP 2018/2019**

subject to the Local Authority (Public Health, Health and Wellbeing Boards and Health Scrutiny) Regulations 2013.

Organisation	Name of Member	Substitute	
STATUTORY MEMBERS (VOTING)			
Chairman	Councillor Corthorne	Any Elected Member	
Vice-Chairman	Councillor Simmonds	Any Elected Member	
Members	Councillor Puddifoot	Any Elected Member	
	Councillor Mills	Any Elected Member	
	Councillor Bianco	Any Elected Member	
	Councillor Burrows	Any Elected Member	
	Councillor Lewis	Any Elected Member	
Healthwatch Hillingdon	Ms Lynn Hill	Mr Turkay Mahmoud	
Clinical Commissioning Group	Dr Ian Goodman	Dr Kuldhir Johal	
For information Membership also includes:			
STATUTORY MEMBERS (NON-VOTING)			
Statutory Director of Adult Social Services	Mr Tony Zaman	Mr Nick Ellender	
Statutory Director of Children's Services	Mr Tony Zaman	Mr Tom Murphy	
Statutory Director of Public Health	Dr Steve Hajioff	Ms Sharon Daye	
CO-OPTED MEMBERS (NON-VOTING)			
The Hillingdon Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust	Mr Shane DeGaris	Mr Richard Sumray	
Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust	Ms Robyn Doran	Ms Maria O'Brien	
Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust	Mr Robert J Bell	Mr Nick Hunt	
LBH	Mr Dan Kennedy	N/A	
Clinical Commissioning Group	Mr Mark Easton	Ms Caroline Morison	
Clinical Commissioning Group	Ms Sarah Crowther	Dr Kuldhir Johal	